Glasscubes uses a traditional, tiered folder structure for storing files. The inherent problem with this is when you have a particular category of file that you want to group together but it’s dispersed across multiple folders. Labels give you an easy way to pulling all of those files together regardless of their location. They become even more useful when you add multiple labels to files for more complex requirements e.g. compliance document management or project work.

Adding labels to files

There are two ways that you can add labels to a file. The first is in the list of files, just click on the file's 'Options' button and select 'Edit labels' from the drop down menu.

Alternatively, you can add labels in the file's detail page by clicking the 'Add labels' link in the 'Options' drop down menu.

Searching for files by filtering labels

In the ‘Files’ section of a workspace you will see a list of the labels that are being used in that workspace. Click on the title of a label to display all of the files that have that label attached.

If you want to refine your search, click on multiple labels.

Once you have two or more labels selected, you have additional filtering options. In this example, any file that has both the ‘Email’ and ‘Important’ label attached to it will be listed. If you change the filter to ‘Match any labels’ then any file that has either label will appear in the results.

Editing labels

To rename or change the colour of a label, hover your mouse over the title of the label in the label list.

Click on the pen icon to edit.

Deleting labels

To delete a label, click on the same pen icon as you would to edit it.

When the edit popup appears click the trash icon to delete the label.

Restrict the editing of labels

You have the option to lock down the editing of files to Administrators and Workspace Owners only. This is an account-wide setting, which can only be enabled by an Administrator and restricts the editing of labels for both files and tasks, across all workspaces.

To apply the restriction, navigate to Settings>Advanced options, scroll to the 'Labels' section and check the box for 'Only allow Workspace Owners to create label'.

Did this answer your question?