Who is this for?

This guide is designed to help new Glasscubes Administrators like yourself, set-up, configure and launch their platform with ease. It’s a step-by-step guide to ensure that you have considered all of the options available to you. It also provides best practice advice, based on the experience we’ve gained on-boarding 1,000’s of clients with challenges similar to your own.

Glasscubes simplifies the way businesses share files, manage projects and communicate with each other. On the surface the interface is very simple and intuitive to use. However the platform is incredibly versatile and there are several things to consider before launching it to your users.

It’s crucial that you give new users a good first experience of the platform, as this will encourage future adoption. Unfortunately, you only get one chance to make a good first impression, don’t waste it.

What skills do I need?

If you can surf the web, you can configure Glasscubes. There is no technical knowledge required.

If you have any questions or need some assistance please contact us. We also have support pages that can be accessed from your account if you prefer.

Configuration fundamentals

Glasscubes offers an extremely comprehensive suite of tools and can be configured in countless ways.

The most important piece of advice that we offer new clients is, ‘if there are features that you aren’t going to use immediately, remove them’. The rationale behind this is to keep the interface as clean and uncluttered as possible.

Leaving functionality in the platform that isn’t going to be used will only confuse new users. If you are unsure whether a feature is going to be used or not, remove it. It can easily be introduced later after users have had an opportunity to become familiar with the core functionality of the platform.

To activate or disable the following account features go to the Options section in your account Settings. Think carefully about which of these features you will use.

Connect

Connect is a shared contact directory with built in Customer Relationship Management and Issue Resolution functionality, which can be switched on/off as required. You can give users access to this area independently of any workspaces they may be members of.

My Tasks

This link is added to the side navigation bar and gives users easy access to their tasks. It offers users a personal, private task list. It also shows any tasks that are assigned to them by other users and tasks that they assign to others.

Private Messenger

Give users the option of real time collaboration using a private messenger service. Private messenger is the perfect tool to ask questions, make arrangements or send updates without picking up the phone.

Your workspace structure

Fundamentally, Glasscubes is a platform that contains secure workspaces. Each workspace will have its own distinct purpose and select group of users. It’s a good idea to decide from the outset how you will structure your workspaces, so that you can clearly communicate the purpose of each workspace when you invite users to join the platform. We have listed some of the common workspace use-cases below.

Workspace templates

If you regularly need to create workspaces with the same content, you can create workspace templates to expedite the process. Populate the template with users, folders/files, tasks, discussions and calendar entries. Then create your workspace in seconds.

User permissions

If you only have a few users to add to your platform, it is very straight forward and there’s no need to document their permissions beforehand. We recommend sending the initial invitations from the User Security area in your account Settings. Click here for more information.

To administer larger groups of users it can be useful to create a spreadsheet that has the following column headings.

  • User – The users email address which will become their username to login.
  • Administrator – Will the user have Administrator rights?
  • Create Workspaces – Can you user create workspaces?
  • Private Messenger – Allow access Yes or No?
  • My Tasks – Allow access Yes or No?
  • Connect – Allow access Yes or No?

After creating the above columns add a column per workspace. Then populate which permission level each user should be allocated to that workspace, using the following codes, WO (Workspace Owner), CO (Contributor), CC (Can Comment), RO (Read Only) or left blank if they shouldn’t have access.

If you are adding large quantities of users that have the same access rights you will find it much easier to administer them in groups. To do this you assign them a team. A team of users will all have access to the same workspaces and share the same level of permissions. If you need to make changes to their permissions you can do that at team level without having to change each individual.

External users

If you plan to invite users to your account that are external to your own organisation e.g. suppliers, partners or clients, you should consider the following:

  • It is unlikely that you will want to give an external user access to the Private Messenger or Connect, as these are internally shared areas.
  • Make sure that the company Dashboard messaging is suitable for external guests.
  • We recommend creating specific workspaces that are used as extranet portals for external users.

Branding & Customisation

We understand the importance of promoting your brand and realise that it should be reflected in everything you do. It’s easy to customise your account, workspaces and communications to promote yourself, rather than us. In addition to this, our Enterprise Edition can be totally white labelled, creating added value by promoting Glasscubes as an extension of your organisation's own technology.

TIP: Give your platform a name that users can identify with. Then only refer to it by that name e.g. The Hub, The Loop, The Vine etc.

Here are some of our branding options. Please contact our Customer Success Team if you need any assistance with this, we have a free design service that’s available to all clients.

  • Account branding – Add your logo, change the dashboard image and add your company messaging.
  • Workspace customisation – Each workspace has several components, Summary, Files, Tasks, Discussion, and Members. Each workspace should only contain the elements that are needed.
  • Workspace branding – Add a welcome message, header image and contact details. Each workspace can be branded and tailored to the group of people or project it contains.
  • System email notifications – All of the notifications that are sent by the platform can include your signature and contact details.
  • External links – Add external links to sites that you want to link to. They will appear as a drop down list from the link icon (3 vertical dots) that appears on the top navigation bar.
  • Populate the news feed – This is the perfect place to publish company news and updates.
  • Company announcement – Consider making a company announcement to welcome new users to the platform. It will appear above the dashboard image and can then be hidden by the user once it’s read.

Other account configuration

  • Password control – Set the minimum required password length, at least one number and on letter is required. You can also enforce how often users must change their passwords.
  • Adding a disclaimer – You have the option of adding a disclaimer that every user must accept when joining the platform.

Final preparation before launch

The final step is to decide who the initial invitation is going to be sent by. Ideally it should be sent by the most Senior Stakeholder. Whoever it is, make sure that they have uploaded a profile picture. It makes the invitation more personal and encourages other users to add their profile information. Also, add a personalised message to the invitations. Explain to the user what business challenge the platform is going to help them with and why it’s been employed.

Post launch

Try to engage with users during the early days. You can do this by updating the news feed regularly, make company or workspace announcements/polls or post new discussions.

  • After a 5-7 days send a reminder invitation to anyone that hasn’t accepted yet.
  • After 14 days send out a poll to all members asking for their initial feedback on the platform.

Additional applications

  • Desktop Connect - This free application makes it much quicker to open, edit and save files directly back into your account.
  • Offline File Sync – This optional upgrade allows you to work on your files while you’re offline and then automatically synchronise any changes the next time you have an internet connection. It’s perfect for users that need access to content regardless of location or internet connectivity.
Did this answer your question?