Although tasks can be assigned to users and given due dates, labels offer a way of adding custom categories to tasks that can be useful to give all users an immediate visual reference, regardless of whether a task is assigned to them or not.

Adding labels to tasks

To add a label, select the task in your task list, then click on label icon in its detail panel.

Type the name of the label you want to add into the text box and click 'Save'. You can add multiple labels by separating each with a comma. Any existing labels will appear in a drop down menu and can just be selected.

After the labels have been added they appear as a visual indication underneath the task's title, in the task list.

To display the full label hover your mouse over the task's title and the label will expand.

Filtering by labels

After labels have been added to tasks they can be used to filter the task list. Click the funnel icon to open the filter panel.

To filter by a label, find the label in the label list and click it. If you are viewing your tasks in the 'My Task' area you will be able to filter on all of your labels across all of the workspaces you have permission to view.

You can filter using multiple labels. Once you have two or more labels selected additional filtering options become available, to 'Match all labels' or 'Match any labels'.

In the example above, any task that has both the ‘Urgent’ and ‘Quarter1’ label attached to it will be listed. If you change the filter to ‘Match any labels’ then any task that has either label will appear in the results.

Editing labels

To rename or change the colour of a label, hover your mouse over the title of the label in the label list.

Click on the pen icon to edit.

Deleting labels

To delete a label, click on the same pen icon as you would to edit it.

When the edit popup appears click the trash icon to delete the label.

Restrict the editing of labels

You have the option to lock down the editing of files to Administrators and Workspace Owners only. This is an account-wide setting, which can only be enabled by an Administrator and restricts the editing of labels for both files and tasks, across all workspaces.

To enable the restriction, navigate to Settings>Options and scroll down the page to the 'Labels options' section and check the option to enable the restriction.

Did this answer your question?