Add users to a team and quickly assign or change permissions to the group as a whole.

Creating a team

Firstly you will need to create a team. To do this you will need to be an Administrator. Go to the 'User Security' section of the account 'Settings', then scroll down to 'Manage User Teams'.

Enter the team’s name and click on 'Add new team'.

If the users that you want to add to the team are already active in the account, you can add them to the team by clicking on the dropdown menu and selecting their names. After you have selected the users you want to add click 'Add the selected user(s) to this team'. When you’re finished click 'Done'.

For privacy purposes the default permission setting when you create a new team is 'no access' to anything. To set the team's permissions click 'View/Change Permissions'.

Adding users to a team that aren’t already in your account

After a team is set up, you can directly allocate new users to it at the same time as inviting them into your account. To do this go to the 'User Security' section of the account 'Settings' and add the new user(s).

After adding the new user’s email address click 'Next' and you will be given the option to add them to a team. Select the team or teams that you want the user(s) added to and click 'Next'.

Assigning team permissions to existing users

To assign existing users to a team go to the 'User Security' section of the account 'Settings', then scroll down to the 'Manage User Teams'. Click 'View/Change users' against the relevant Team to add users.

NOTE: You can add users to a workspace both as a part of a team and as an individual. In this scenario the higher of the two workspace permission levels will prevail. The exception to this is at a file and folder level, where for security purposes the most restrictive permissions apply.

Adding a team to a workspace

If you want to add a team to a workspace, go to the 'Member' section of the workspace and click 'Give someone access to this workspace'.

Now select the team from the drop down list and the give the team a role/permission level and click 'Add'.

Now you will see the team in the Members area of the workspace. You can display the individual members of the team by clicking on 'Show Team' or you can change the team’s permissions for that workspace by clicking on 'Change their permission'.

Did this answer your question?