NOTE: These instructions only apply to accounts that were opened before 1st November 2022. If your account was opened after that date click here.

Users are assigned a permission level when they are invited to join a workspace. Workspace Owners can apply additional restrictions to individual files and folders.

Groups explained

Workspace Owners can create and manage Groups. File and folder restrictions are applied to Groups and users that are added to a Group inherit that Group's restrictions.

Groups are located in the Options>Groups section of a workspace.

New workspaces have a 'Default group' added to them automatically.

The Group's options menu allows you to add/remove users, rename the Group, or change the default Group.

How groups apply restrictions to users

If file and folder restrictions are added to a workspace, we would strongly recommend that they are applied to the 'Default group'.

Users that are added to a workspace at an account level, by an Administrator, will always be added to the 'Default group', and therefore inherit that Group's restrictions. The same applies to Workspace Owners, although they do have other options; they can invite users to a workspace as an individual, or into another group, or other groups.

If a user is added to a workspace as an individual, and to a group, or multiple groups, the most restrictive permission that has been applied to them will prevail.

Applying file and folder restrictions

Restrictions are applied by navigating to the 'Files' section of a workspace.

Click on a file/folder's 'Options' button, and select 'Edit permissions' from the drop down menu.

A list of the users, Groups, and Teams that have access to that file/folder will appear in a popup. The following restrictions can be applied to a Group:

  • Write is full access, to edit, move, copy, share, or download content.

  • Read access restricts users to only copy, share, or download content.

  • View only access prevents users doing anything other than viewing content in an online preview panel. The file cannot be downloaded, printed or shared.

  • None revokes all access to the content. Applying this restriction hides the file/folder from users.

NOTE: It Is not possible to apply restrictions to Administrators or Workspace Owners.

Managing file/folder restrictions

If a restriction has been applied to a file or folder an 'i' icon will appear to the right of the restriction.

To see where that restriction originates from click the 'i' icon.

A popup with a flow diagram highlights the item (in green) that the restriction has been applied to. In the example above a 'View' restriction has been applied to the 'Example folder 1' folder and its contents.

Applying file/folder restrictions to teams

It is possible for workspace members to be invited into a workspace as both an individual and as result of them being a member of one or more teams. If a file or folder restriction has been applied to a team that the user is a member of the most restrictive permission will prevail.

Did this answer your question?