NOTE: These instructions only apply to accounts that were opened after 1st November 2022. If your account was opened before that date click here.

Users are assigned a permission level when they are invited to join a workspace. Workspace Owners can apply additional restrictions to individual folders.

Groups explained

Workspace Owners can create and manage Groups. Folder restrictions are applied to Groups and users that are added to a Group inherit that Group's folder restrictions.

Groups are located in the Options>Groups section of a workspace.

New workspaces have a 'Default group' added to them automatically.

The Group's options menu allows you to add/remove users, rename the Group, or change the default Group.

How groups apply folder restrictions to users

If folder restrictions are added to a workspace, we would strongly recommend that they are applied to the 'Default group'.

Users that are added to a workspace at an account level, by an Administrator, will always be added to the 'Default group', and therefore inherit that Group's restrictions. The same applies to Workspace Owners, although they do have other options; they can invite users to a workspace as an individual, or into another group, or other groups.

If a user is added to a workspace as an individual, and to a group, or multiple groups, the lowest folder restriction that has been applied to them will prevail.

In the example above, the Example User is a member of both the 'Default group' (with restricted access) and the 'Managers only group' (with full access). The lowest restriction applies, so the Example User retains full access to this folder.

Applying folder restrictions

Restrictions are applied to a folder by navigating to the 'Files' section of a workspace.

Click on a folder's 'Options' button, and select 'Folder restrictions' from the drop down menu.

A list of the users, Groups, and Teams that have access to that folder will appear in a popup. The following restrictions can applied to a Group:

  • Write is full access, to edit, move, copy, share, or download content.

  • Read access restricts users to only copy, share, or download content.

  • View only access prevents users doing anything other than viewing content in an online preview panel. The file cannot be downloaded, printed or shared.

  • None revokes all access to the content. Applying this restriction hides the folder from users.

NOTE: It Is not possible to apply folder restrictions to Administrators or Workspace Owners.

Managing folder restrictions

To see where a restriction originates from click the blue 'i' icon that appears to the right of the restriction.

A popup with a flow diagram highlights the item in green that the restriction has been applied to.

In the example above a 'View' restriction has been applied to the 'Example folder 1' folder and its contents.

Applying file/folder restrictions to teams

It is possible for users to be invited into a workspace as both an individual and as result of them being a member of one or more teams. If a folder restriction has been applied to a team that the user is a member of the least restrictive permission will prevail.

Did this answer your question?