Private workspaces only become visible to users if they are specifically invited to join them. In contrast, public workspaces are published to a searchable directory, which is accessible by other users of your account.

Public workspaces are ideal for forums, communities, memberships and special interest groups. They can browsed by users and joined on demand.

Configuring a public workspace

After you've created your workspace you will most likely want to configure and upload, or add content to it, before you publish it and make it available to other users. Until you do it will only be visible to you.

It's important to create a good first impression, which will help encourage other users to join your workspace. To do that you need to create a workspace header. Note: You will not be able to publish your workspace until you do.

Publishing a public workspace

After you've configured your workspace, uploaded its content and created its welcome header, you're ready to launch it.

Click the 'Publish workspace' button and your workspace will be added to the public workspace directory for other users to browse and join.

Joining/leaving a public workspace

Public workspaces can be joined or left from the public workspace directory or from the workspace itself.

The 'Join workspace' button is located under the workspace's title.

Once you are a member of a public workspace the button to leave it is located to the top right corner of the workspace header, on the 'About' page.

Converting a workspace's type

Workspace Owners have the option of converting their private workspace to a public workspace, or vice versa. To do that navigate to the Options>Settings area of the relevant workspace, scroll to the 'Workspace type' section and select the desired workspace type.

Restricting/disabling public workspaces

Administrators can restrict this feature to specific users, or disable it entirely. Navigate to 'Settings>Other permissions>Manage who can create public workspaces'.

Removing users from this panel will restrict their ability to create public workspaces. If you 'Remove all' users and uncheck the 'Allow new users to create public workspaces' box, the public workspace feature will be unavailable to any user other than Administrators.

Did this answer your question?